The green light

4fb3dd566a3ba3c471565105adb23017

Gatsby believed in the green light, the orgastic future that year by year recedes before us. It eluded us then, but that’s no matter—tomorrow we will run faster, stretch out our arms farther… And then one fine morning— So we beat on, boats against the current, borne back ceaselessly into the past. F Scott Fitzgerald

My boyfriend’s six year-old daughter was telling me why she liked the green light best – of the traffic light trifecta. “Because green means go.” She said. Hells yeah, I thought. That’s deep.

I love talking to kids about stuff. They often have such clear intuition, unsophisticated, unclogged by a lifetime of conditioning.

Green means go – go with the flow. The natural flow. It represents nature, it is the colour of grass, and trees, and moss. It is also the colour that resonates with the heart chakra. The centre that flows with the energy of love and the element of air.

The heart gives us the courage – from coeur, French for heart – the ‘green light’ to go for our dreams, to go with the ones we love, wherever that may lead us.

In my meditations recently, I see a verdant green glade in my mind’s eye. It runs aside a windy path, flanked by lush trees and ferns. So much greenery that even the light in the glade is a lush green, and so bright that the effect of the experience is to feel bathed in green light. It’s indescribably beautiful and nurturing.

forest_glade_speedpaint_by_mattiasedstrom-d5c9wxn

God loved birds and created trees. Man loved birds and made cages. Jacques Deval

The Sanskrit word for the heart chakra is अनाहत, Anāhata, meaning “un-struck.” This name conceptualises the idea that the heart is resonant, an ‘unstruck’ instrument echoing the sounds of the celestial realm. Anahata also means unhurt and unbeaten. Which is a nice image for those feeling a little weary of heart.

The heart chakra is located in the center of the chest, and it rules the heart and lungs.This chakra is associated with the feelings of love and compassion. Anahata is related to the element air, it is accessible through the breath. Visualising breathing through your heart centre, imagining love-filled light entering your body via your heart is a wonderful heart-opening exercise.

Shamanic practitioner, Sandra Ingerman, writes that air is our first experience as we are born, as we take in our first breath, and our very last experience as this life ends, and we breathe out our last breath. With every breath we are in relationship with air. In indigenous cultures it is believed that air – in the wind – carries messages throughout the world.

And we all breathe the same air. Imagine where it has been, what energies it carries.

When the heart chakra is unbalanced or blocked, it can manifest itself in the upper back, the heart, rib cage, blood (circulatory system), lungs and diaphragm, thymus gland, breasts, and oesophagus. Emotionally, imbalance in the heart chakra is indicated by difficulty with love, lack of hope, despair, moodiness, envy, fear, jealousy, anger, and anxiety.

When you are sorrowful look again in your heart, and you shall see that in truth you are weeping for that which has been your delight. Khalil Gibran

krasny

The thymus gland is co-located with this chakra. Named for its likeness to the thyme leaves, the thymus is associated with the production of thymosin – a hormone which has a direct effect on our immunological system.

According to Amanda McQuade Crawford, in traditional societies, the heart was seen as intricately linked to immunity. Instinctively, when we feel upset or stressed we press our hand to our chest. This is know as the “thymus thump” and actually stimulates our thymus gland and heart chakra to give us courage and a boost of energy.

With less than a week to go before my first class, I can do with all the courage and energy I can get! My chakra-based business plan is very much centred around the heart chakra – and the themes of connecting with community, service to others, inspiring courage, and co-creation.

I ask myself the question, how can I co-create this vision with others? First I share my vision wholeheartedly with people I meet, and I ask potential customers what they need, what are they searching for in their lives. And I am looking to collaborate with other service providers to enhance people’s experiences. Its a focus on giving.

When I focus on giving, it removes the fear I feel when I focus of what I am getting – or not getting.

The dance of Anahata – the heart chakra – is soft and gentle and loving. The guided imagery invites the energies of the earth mother to enter through the base chakra, and the sky father through the crown chakra, to meet and dance in the heart. I’m sure you can imagine how wonderfully divine this union feels.

This chakra is represented by a gray lotus flower with 12 petals. Within the lotus flower are two triangles intersecting, called a shatkona. This symbol in Hinduism represents the union of the masculine and feminine form.

I find it helpful to use this analogy in my own relationship. The bringing together of two disparate energies through the connective energy of the heart. When I feel disconnected from my lover, I often place a hand on his chest and visualise green light between us. He thinks it’s new age nonsense, but that’s okay, it works anyway!

tumblr_n4uhpfyWoH1rtqinwo5_500

There is always that torque between our desire to be independent and our yearning to be a union. The heart chakra is the bridge between these extremes, as well as the bridge between the physical – lower three chakras – and the metaphysical centres – upper three chakras.

What should I do about the wild and the tame? The wild heart that wants to be free, and the tame heart that wants to come home. I want to be held. I don’t want you to come too close. I want you to scoop me up and bring me home at nights. I don’t want to tell you where I am. I want to keep a place among the rocks where no one can find me. I want to be with you. Jeanette Winterson

The heart chakra Chakradance – the dance of love – balances these energies. The heart chakradance inspires a lightness of movement, with music from ancient Spain, Egypt and China. These dance styles use gentle arm movements and whirling, to inspire a feeling of soaring into the heavens, whilst connecting lightly with mother earth.

I sometimes think that people’s hearts are like deep wells. Nobody knows what’s at the bottom. All you can do is imagine by what comes floating to the surface every once in a while. Haruki Murakami

It is only really occurring to me now, the truly profound link between my fourth intention, vibrant health, and the fourth energy centre, the heart chakra. To be vibrant is to be in possession of all my energy, which suggests I am not leaking energy through unhealthy relationships and emotional attachments, and fearful thoughts.

Our love is an energy that emanates from our vital core, through our heart centre and out into the world. In order to be a light-bringer to the world, we ensure that our inner energies are in harmony.

Chakra-Portal-4

Last night, in my Chakradance journey, I saw an image of a human being as a connector between father sky and mother earth and the elements of air, water, fire and earth. The connecting point is the heart centre. When our hearts are energised and we are connected to these forces of nature, we can bring them into life. We grow plants, and collect water, we absorb sunlight and walk gently on the earth. Our purpose is to contribute our unique brand of service to the community and the earth itself.

We are the manifestation of all these energies in form. Added to that we have consciousness of this power. Alongside that comes responsibility to use it well.

It’s always hard to come back to the daily reality of jobs and cars and mortgages from this space. Yet, this is the space where the love energy is most needed. Small actions have profound effects. Keep your corner of the earth green, protect its water and trees. Act with daily kindness and compassion to those around you.

See your lover, your children, your family, as the same divine manifestations of this union of all that is. Honour every living thing. Bring love into your every thought, every action today. Steadfastly focus on the green light.

His heart danced upon her movements like a cork upon a tide. He heard what her eyes said to him from beneath their cowl and knew that in some dim past, whether in life or revery, he had heard their tale before. James Joyce

The green light means go. Go for your dreams, your loves, live your life with your whole heart.

Affirmations by Natalie Southgate:

I am a compassionate person.

I have open, honest relationships.

I am generous to myself.

I forgive easily.

I accept others as they are.

I breathe deeply and effortlessly.

I accept myself just as I am.

Bless!

 

Sources:

Yoga and the Chakras

Dancing Your Heart Chakra- the key to unconditional love, By Natalie Southgate, Wellbeing July 27, 2013

Hormones Demystified, by Amanda McQuade Crawford, Yoga Journal May-Jun 1997

Images:

Green Shiva

Forest Glade by Matthias Edstrom

Green drops

Heart leaves

Thyme leaves

Women Heart

Leave a Reply

