Calling in your community

bluegirl

Don’t bend; don’t water it down; don’t try to make it logical; don’t edit your own soul according to the fashion. Rather, follow your most intense obsessions mercilessly. Franz Kafka

The older I get the more amazed I become at how crude our attempts at communication are. And by ‘our’ I mean humans, in general. I mean, we’ve been doing this communicating thing for a long time, and yet there is still so much misunderstanding in the world. Sometimes, this is a result of blatant misinformation, say in the worst of advertising or politics, where obscuring the truth for personal, political, and monetary gain, is rife.

But what of the majority of us people, out in the world trying to be the best we can, and often finding ourselves baffled by how much people misunderstand us. Or is that just me? Please say it isn’t so!

I have often felt misunderstood by other people, when in fact, it was my communication that was not clear. A lack of clarity which seems to stem from inner confusion and lack of integrity to my truth. My communication becomes wobbly and unclear when I am internally conflicted about what I am saying.

Obviously I am a good communicator at times – hopefully you understand what you are reading right now.

For me, it is in the deeply personal, emotionally-charged issues, or in areas where I feel insecure or doubtful, that my communication wanes. It is literally as if the power goes out of my self-expression, and I am speaking in dull whispers that people just don’t hear. As such I realise the power of communicating resides in me. When my personal power, confidence, and self belief is strong, my communication is clear. When my inner energy is weak or unresolved, my communication becomes like static white noise and it is indecipherable.

http-::media-cache-ec0.pinimg.com:236x:5e:08:b8:5e08b82caaef1ac3c6797567af910084.jpg

I had a perfect example this week, where I felt other people had either not heard something I had expressed, or had failed to grasp its importance and consigned this – deeply precious – knowledge about me, in a file marked “extraneous stuff about…”

Fortunately I have done enough personal work in this area to no longer assign blame to the other person. I may feel hurt, that’s fair enough, then I ask myself if perhaps the communication block originates in me.

Never be afraid to raise your voice for honesty and truth and compassion against injustice and lying and greed. If people all over the world…would do this, it would change the earth.William Faulkner

I think very few people are great communicators, but gee, you know it when you meet one. They clarify everything, and you just know they hear what you meant to say, and you heard what they meant to say. It’s magic. And not coincidentally, they are usually people of great integrity and clear inner vision.

We all have our programmed communication nuances, from our culture, our families, our schools, even the TV we did or did not grow up watching. Add to that issues of shyness, depression, various buried neuroses, prejudices, and shadow aspects, and whoa mama! It’s a whole melting pot of murky and mixed signals out there!

Possibly we are not clearly saying what we think we are saying, and even if we are, the other person is probably hearing what they think they are hearing, not what we are actually trying to say. Did you get that? Geez…

This is why I love the dance of the vissudha, the throat chakra. The dance of communication, self-expression, and truth. In some ways it is the chakra I have had the most powerful awakening in. As someone who would have preferred to hide from the world and its rough edges, having the dharma of a writer and teacher has not allowed that. I had to learn to communicate better.

This is a great visual and sound healing for the throat chakra. It’s quite hypnotic!

Speaking of communication, I launched my Chakradance business this week. YAY! Which consisted of me finishing my website and promoting my chakradance classes. Check it out here: http://www.rawmojo.com.au

All this is very consistent with the throat chakra, and its theme of communication. Bringing my business vision into the world happens through the gateway of communication. So I am writing, publishing and talking about my venture.

In my chakra-based business plan, I explored the throat chakra with the following themes and question:

Throat chakra – Communication – Creativity – Expression. How can I authentically express my vision?

It is becoming really clear to me that business is about two interrelated things: providing something that fulfils a need in your community, and relationships. Relationships are about communication. So the ability to communicate clearly is vital to success in life at the personal and vocational levels.

As I said before, I am seeing how vital it is to my communication that I am clear and clean about my intentions and desires with myself. When I speak from my genuine enthusiasm for Chakradance, people connect to that energy and are enthused.

braque

To cram in as much practice for when I start Chakradance classes in a couple of weeks, I’ve been chakradancing almost every day. It’s not a chore, in fact, the more I do it, the more excited I become at the prospect of this being my service to others.

Three things cannot be long hidden: the sun, the moon, and the truth. Buddha

My passion for Chakradance has many positive flow-on effects. This works at a number of levels. It begins with my personal practice, and the benefits I receive from Chakradance. Then, it involves me communicating this from a place of enthusiasm. I teach for the sake of enabling others to experience the joy and healing that I have.

Removing profit motives from my business vision, I focus on calling in my community. What does that mean?

The concept of calling in my community came to me as I danced the throat chakra. It feels like good old-fashioned word of mouth. I talk to and teach people, and then they talk to others about their experience, they bring their friends out of love and a desire to share something beautiful.

My insight in the dance was very strong – I must not push or force my vision into reality. I must allow this to grow at it’s own pace. People will come to classes when it is right for them. The very next day a friend messaged me to say she had booked herself and three friends into the class.

I am also beginning to see Chakradance as my main spiritual practice. I have always longed for a practice that consolidated all my disparate beliefs and rituals and techniques. Chakradance does that really well.

Its combination of Indian Vedic wisdom – which I have been drawn to since I was a child listening to the Beatles – Jungian psychology, colour, crystals, plants and flower essences, shamanic dance and vision journeying, and recognition of angels, guide and gods, and goddesses. It really has everything I have ever loved and found useful and healing for myself.

I am also seeking a clarity for my spiritual practice. For so long I have taken bits and pieces from many disciplines and traditions, but I have a strong yearning, a calling, if you will, to find a discipline I can call my own. I have the breadth, now it’s time for the depth of practice.

http-::www.dromenvangster.nl:keel.jpg

So I am using my chakradance practice as a kind of vision quest. I am actively asking to be shown my spiritual path, and I am receiving lots of visions.

After last week’s vision in the third eye meditation class, I have been very aware of archetypal images cropping up in my life.

After I asked for this guidance, for 3 days straight I kept seeing a business van with the name ‘Celtic’ painted on it. I literally saw it twice a day, going to and from work, in different streets each time. It was not until I said aloud “okay, I get it, Celtic” That I stopped seeing it.

My visions in the past around the throat chakra have been three women in robes chanting, and three pillars or columns.

This week I have been seeing these images a lot. As is always the case when archetypal images emerge. Like the Celtic van, suddenly they are everywhere. It makes sense to me, since the brain functions as a filter to information – so we literally only see a small percentage of the stimulus around us.

Yet when our subconscious is speaking to us – especially when we have expressed a conscious desire for that to happen – these archetypal images are registered in our mind, and become like a constantly beating drum, reminding us of some vital information our subconscious wants us to have.

I discovered Artemis is associated with three pillars. Three pillars – representing the triple Great Goddess – maiden, mother, crone, and the phases of the moon. She was also a virgin goddess, which ties in nicely with the theme of purity, associated with the throat chakra.

As a read more about shamanic practice, I have a feeling that much of this information that comes from our subconscious is retrieved  at a level our conscious mind doesn’t comprehend. So even though these images may seem disparate and meaningless to my mind, that doesn’t mean they are. It may be information that is being stored and will become meaningful to me at some future time. The famous ‘AHA!’ moment.

light-blue

Myth is much more important and true than history. History is just journalism and you know how reliable that is. Joseph Campbell

Vissudha, the sanskrit works for the chakra literally means purification.

In the throat chakradance, we chant and sing to cleanse the throat chakra, and enhance our ability for self-expression.

Recently, I have been investigating the interplay between the chakras and the endocrine system. Whilst some of the connections seem a little nebulous, the link between the throat chakra and the thyroid glands is quite established.

The thyroid gland is located in the lower neck, and helps to regulate the metabolism.

An overactive thyroid, or hyperthyroidism, is caused by an overproduction of thyroid hormones. Hypothyroidism, or underactive thyroid, occurs when the thyroid gland does not produce enough hormones. Both conditions have serious health implications.

According to Anodea Judith, when issues of self‑expression and communication cause the throat chakra to be imbalanced, thyroid problems can result.

Triggers as subtle as noise pollution, criticism, an environment of dishonesty, and stifled creativity can cause imbalance in this chakra.

flat,550x550,075,f

Just as the thyroid assists in physical metabolism, the throat chakra metabolizes and moves energy between all the chakras.

Tracey LeBeau says the signs of imbalances in the Throat Chakra are – depending on whether the chakra is over-active or under-active – are either talking too much, or not speaking up. So either listening more, to sounds that soothe this chakra, or speaking up more, sometimes by practicing difficult conversations aloud, will help realign this chakra.

The most courageous act is still to think for yourself. Aloud. Coco Chanel

Chanting and humming, listening to vibrational sounds are among the best ways to clear and balance this chakra.

This is another beautiful meditation to clear away chakra blockages. I suggest just listening to it with your eyes closed, it’s not very visually exciting!

Enjoy exploring this chakra with colour and crystals too. Anything in the light to mid-blue range will resonate with the throat chakra. Wear a bright blue scarf. And get outside under that blue sky, imagine your vissudha expanding to the far reaches of the sky, resonating with the blue light of purity, harmony, truth and creativity.

Affirmations on the throat chakra by Chakradance founder Natalie Southgate:

“I can speak freely”

“What I say has value”

“I can express myself”

“I am heard.”

“Creativity flows through me.”

“It is my essence to create.”

“When I listen I hear the truth.”

“I am able to speak to others clearly and eloquently.”

“It is good, right, and safe for me to express my true essence.”

“My truth is necessary.”

“I allow my essence to express itself in my life.”

 

Bless!

 

Sources:

Stressed Thyroid Glands and Yoga

The Throat Chakra and the Body

 

Title Image: Throat Chakra Vissudha by Rebelbam

Blue Lady

Vissudha

Light Blue Lady

Lettera Amorosa by Georges Braque

Blue Mandala

 

2 comments on “Calling in your community

Leave a Reply

