Making dreams come true

open hands woman sparkles

Finally, I am coming to the conclusion that my highest ambition is to be what I already am. Thomas Merton

If you have been with me from the start of this blog, you may remember that in the new year, when it felt like the time was ripe to make resolutions, I decided to try really putting it all out there, not just one or two things, but everything. All my heart’s desires.

It was a resolution to take charge of my life, to be my own fairy godmother, to make all my wishes, all my dreams come true. Inspired by Noelle Oxenhandler’s book The Wishing Year, I decided to devote a year of my life to investigating every method of manifesting intentions I could find.

Nothing would be off the table, I would keep an open mind and look into all possibilities for creating the life I wished for. If a middle-aged woman channeling a guide called Abraham had some helpful advice, well, dammit, I’d even try that!

You were given life; it is your duty (and also your entitlement as a human being) to find something beautiful within life, no matter how slight. Elizabeth Gilbert

It’s not easy to settle on a finite number of your heart’s desires. I started with three; a home, a spiritual community, and love. I added writing; my true heart’s passion for a career and revenue earner. Health. More money would be nice, friends and family, travel… It was quickly getting out of control, I settled on the number seven.

But I didn’t want to be restrictive, so I made these intentions broad and roomy, you know, so the universe gets to play with my desires, so they can be bigger than my limited mind.

My intention was to blog my way through the experience of manifesting my seven intentions. So this post is dedicated to the inner treasure trove I have found – so far – and how the process of writing this blog, of focusing on my intentions, has revealed this treasure to me.

(So this is somewhat of a progress report for those of you who have been following, if you’re new to the blog – welcome! – and there’s links all the way through this post so you can catch up on all the fun you’ve missed.)

Now where was I? Ah yes. Treasure…

I think I deserve something beautiful. Elizabeth Gilbert

I was an ‘overly sensitive child’, a ‘hyperactive child’, a ‘gifted child’ – so many labels. In the modern Western society sensitivity is seen as a liability, and that’s absolutely how I regarded it. A guilty secret to be hidden away, locked in an inner closet and berated.

Here’s the secret prize. It turns out in the field of universal energy and manifesting intentions, sensitivity is a gift.

Follow your inner moonlight; don’t hide the madness. Allen Ginsberg

The truth is, whatever you are is a gift: sensitive, introspective, feisty, resilient, whatever your natural traits might be, they are YOUR traits, for you to discover the inner treasure of. I spent my whole life trying to be different to what I am, only to discover that what I am is exactly what I am meant to be.

Be yourself; everyone else is already taken. Oscar Wilde

And so my seven intentions are beginning to manifest in most spectacular and surprising ways. Let’s review what they were:

7 Intentions: home, community, purpose, vibrant health, abundance, joy, love

I began by reading every book I could find on manifesting intentions – see my reading list here – and one of the first lessons I learned was to be grateful for what is, if like attracts like, gratitude attracts more of what we are grateful for.

Piglet noticed that even though he had a Very Small Heart, it could hold a rather large amount of Gratitude. A.A. Milne

I expressed gratitude for my home as perfect, I even have a garage I intend to clean out to use as a space for writing, meditating and teaching Chakradance. For now anyway, that doesn’t mean I have given up on my lovely dream house and garden by the water.

I discovered the importance of using feelings to connect with my intentions, I began to imagine what it would feel like to be surrounded by a community of people who supported and enhanced my intentions. I updated all my social media to reflect that I am a writer and wellbeing enthusiast, and this has attracted people to me in new ways.

Walk as if you are kissing the Earth with your feet. Thích Nhất Hạnh

My community has also grown out of people reading my blog and my intention to teach Chakradance, but more on that in a minute. I also discovered many online communities including Healing with the Masters, The Intention Experiment and Intent.com, and The Global Love Project, but more on that in my next post.

My purpose of writing and helping people has resulted in three blogs – seven intentions, dad’s travel diaries and one hundred percent raw. Through this intention, I allowed my passion for writing to surface and be visible to others. It became apparent that writing came from my spirit and was inextricably connected to my spiritual practice, as I have discovered, is everything, the more I developed my chakra work and meditation, the more the writing flowed, and the people who could assist me came into my life. My blogs have had thousands of views from people in 23 countries, how cool is that?

Let yourself be drawn by the stronger pull of that which you truly love. Rumi

I created vision boards to assist me to visualise and stay focussed on what I intended to manifest into my life. Every morning I meditated and did chakra energy work to maintain a state of flow in my energy, which I read would maximise my manifesting abilities. Somewhere along the line I got so inspired by the seven chakras that I aligned them to my seven intentions and had a fabulous time experimenting and discovering those connections. The by-product was it felt amazing, and the more I encouraged my energy flow, the more health, vitality, and inspiration seemed to flow through me.

Find out who you are and do it on purpose. Dolly Parton

Chakradance is a wonderful way for me to get my energy flowing, and I kept having the impulse to train as a facilitator so I could run groups in my area. There seemed no way I could afford to do the course, but this idea kept niggling at my mind. Keeping an open mind, I remembered a few friends had done crowd sourcing to fund their projects and I thought why not? Check out my pozible ‘Chakradance this city’ project here.

My supporters had contributed 50% of the funds in 24 hours. How’s that for putting it out there?

Once we believe in ourselves, we can risk curiosity, wonder, spontaneous delight, or any experience that reveals the human spirit. E.E. Cummings

My vibrant health continues to improve as does my vitality, evidenced by the fact I can write three blogs, study Chakradance, work and raise my son, as well as having a rich life of family, friends, and interests. I learned the power of the heart chakra and of wishing from the heart.

Interestingly, when I had my health crash last year, one of the culprits was my adrenals glands. The adrenals produce adrenaline and tend to be the way many of us keep go, go, going in this fast-paced world. Read here how Christiane Northrup talks about low self-esteem affecting our adrenals. The lesson for me was to cease the incessant drive to be more, do more, have more.

Don’t power walk. Saunter slowly in the sun, eating chocolate, and carry a blanket so you can take a nap. S.A.R.K.

It was so liberating to allow myself to go to bed when I was tired, in the middle of the day. To not exercise if I didn’t have the energy. My self-will had driven me into the ground, and the only way to reset was to allow my body, not my mind, to run the show. I finally learned to live from my heart, and love myself no matter what. Only because I had no choice, my body had finally said ‘no!’ and I have not been able to have any energy since then unless I come from a place of calm, love and self-acceptance.

Love yourself first and everything else falls into line. Your really have to love yourself to get anything done in this world. Lucille Ball

After tiring of spending money each week on getting my back treated, I just stated the intention of trying to heal it myself. Why not? These are the wacky things you try when you are testing the process of manifesting intentions. My back practitioners have been telling me to do this for a while – to heal myself – but I still had that dependence on them. Now structurally my back is pretty okay, my problems are exacerbated by stress, both emotional and physiological, due to lifestyle and diet.

Don’t compromise yourself. You’re all you’ve got. Janis Joplin

Rediscovering yoga, focusing on opening my heart and chest, and allowing more energy to flow has done wonders for my back and overall flexibility. (If you are interested try these yoga asanas. These twists are also good.) By eating well, yoga, meditation and energy work, well, I think I healed my back.

If you begin to understand what you are without trying to change it, then what you are undergoes a transformation. Jiddu Krishnamurti

The biggest shift in my yoga practice, and my life, is an absence of force. I used to force myself into yoga poses, often hurting myself in the process. Now I have learned to breathe into the pose and listen to my body’s wisdom. This allows me to work with my body and not against it. The change is spectacular! This manifests in my life as complete trust and surrender to whatever is occurring in my body. Pain, discomfort, uncomfortable feelings, and fatigue are merely messages, not ‘symptoms’ to be afraid of.

I now see how owning our story and loving ourselves through that process is the bravest thing that we will ever do. Brene Brown

See above, and below: my life is positively bursting with abundance now!

My last post was on joy, and my discovery of the power of joy to create a shift of perception from despair into hope. It is my new way to tap into the creative energy of the universal consciousness. Joy is expansive in energy, it opens the heart, it attracts to it light and love, it radiates these qualities too, it seeks to transmit itself through connection with others and with all that is.

I will so trust that what is deep is holy, that I will do strongly before the sun and moon whatever only rejoices me, and the heart appoints. Ralph Waldo Emerson

It seems unbelievably self-indulgent, to me, to live out of  a state of joy, and yet, it appears that is the only state from which I can create and manifest intentions. And therefore the only state from which I can live my purpose and give my gifts to the world. This is something I keep coming back to. It is not my default setting, and yet, it may be my natural state, for when I meditate, when I quieten my ego mind, joy shines through.

And love. Well, there’s plenty more time to talk about that!

Look at me manifesting intentions all over the place. Although not in the way I’d imagined!

The real difficulty is to overcome how you think about yourself. If we don’t have that we never grow, we never learn, and sure as hell we should never teach. Maya Angelou

The truth is, when I dreamed of being a writer, it was bestselling literary novels I imagined writing. Award-winning novels. To be the next Margaret Atwood. Praise and accolades would flow. Actually I have had fantasies of being awarded the Nobel Prize for Literature. I used to be embarrassed by such daydreams, but now I just accept they are a part and parcel of having an over-active imagination. Besides, the beauty of the imagination is even if it never really happens, I will have enjoyed the experience nonetheless.

There’s no alternative to being yourself. Accept it, honour it, value it – and get on with it. Rasheed Ogunlaru

Now here I am writing three rather humble wellbeing and travel blogs and becoming a Chakradance instructor – I didn’t see that one coming. And mostly, I’m okay with that. Mostly.

You are Perfection and Imperfection’s Love Child. Sera Beak

When I caught up with a friend from my uni days this week, I noticed I played down my spirituality and it’s predominance in my writing, I didn’t encourage him to read my blogs. I saw a disconnect between who I used to think I wanted to be, and who I am.

Wanting to be someone else is a waste of who you are. Kurt Cobain

Maybe I will write novels one day, I continue to jot my story ideas down in a notebook. For now, I just keep taking the next intuitive step. Manifesting intentions seems to be less about forcing particular outcomes and more of a living dream: creating a vision, and a letting go of how it looks in reality.

The more I surrender to this process, the more I see the results manifest.

Today’s affirmations by Che Garman from affirmyourlife.blogspot.com

As I follow my heart, I discover my destiny.

As I grow more connected to my soul, my life’s purpose becomes clearer and clearer.

As I live my true purpose, joy and contentment fill my life.

Each day my life unfolds with absolute purpose.

Every action I take moves me towards my greater purpose.

Every day I find more ways to contribute to the greater good.

Every day I follow my bliss.

Having a clear purpose energizes my life.

I always follow my heart’s path.

I am deeply fulfilled by all that I do.

Bless!

 

Title image source: http://theresekerr.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/02/305669_502688633097226_1785424327_n.jpg

4 comments on “Making dreams come true

  1. I’m just loving your writing at the moment. It flows so beautiful onto the page and I feel completely filled up and excited by possibility after I finish reading. I’m also very much looking forward to my first Chakradance lesson – this cynic’s going hippy! xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

