How to wish in 8 easy steps

Wish

The goal of life is to make your heartbeat match the beat of the universe to match your nature with Nature. Joseph Campbell

It’s official! I have a wishing-prone personality. I think we all knew that, but now I have done the test in Paul Pearsall’s book Wishing Well: Making your every wish come true. I scored 90%. Interestingly 85% of people score above 80%, perhaps wishing – intending in action – is an innate part of our human make-up after all.

I have to issue a warning for my readers. As I said to my very skeptical friend, you have known me as a pretty sensible person. In writing this blog I have let my inner hippy out to play, and well, she’s off and dancing on a moonbeam now, there’s no calling her back – even if I wanted to. Sensible has left the building (yay!)

Possibly you may be saying ‘I think we already got that memo!’ After all this blog is about intentions and chakras and mystical energetic connections…

You are lucky to be one of those people who wishes to build sand castles with words, who is willing to create a place where your imagination can wander. Anne Lamott

Paul Pearsall’s book Wishing Well looks at the ancient traditions of wishing in Hawaiian culture – where he lives and works as a neuropsychologist at the University of Hawaii. He uncovers some very simple guidelines for people to incorporate these principles into their lives. Wishing is held in very high regard in Hawaiian culture as an extension of the belief that our words have great power, and as such great responsibility and care should be taken in what we wish for.

You may say, hang on a second, this blog is (supposed) to be about intentions. What’s with this wishing stuff, isn’t that for kids who still believe in the tooth fairy?

Noelle Oxenhandler describe a wish as “desire with feathers, an arrow’s feathers and arrows sharp point.” It is an intention that takes flight through the power of wishing, and inherent in wishing is the hope of its fulfilment. Wishing invokes ancient rituals that humankind has used for millennia to co-create their reality.

Your vision will become clear only when you can look into your own heart. Who looks outside, dreams; who looks inside, awakes. Carl Jung

So here it is, Paul Pearsall’s guide to wishing in 8 easy steps:

  1. SD-SU-CD. Sit down. Shut up. Calm down. You need to quieten your body so you can connect with the energy of your heart.
  2. Pick a wish target – this is not the thing you are wishing for, but something to focus on. Look at something alive, like a tree, by connecting with nature you enhance your wishing energies.
  3. Close your eyes.
  4. Breathe deeply and abdominally. Think of your heart breathing with every beat.
  5. Place your left hand over your heart. This enhances the brain-heart connection so when you say the words, they are connected to your heart.
  6. Place your right hand gently, but firmly, over your left hand.
  7. On exhaling, whisper your wish. Say each word between your heartbeat.
  8. Use eight short words – this number has mythological significance and power.

A word of warning against rash and thoughtless wishing, Paul Pearsall reminds the reader of the 4 principles of wise wishing.

W- Wait. Be clear in intention, be in patience and stillness, don’t rush.

I – Imagine. Visualise your wish to ensure it will benefit all concerned.

S – Sensitivity – Realise that wishing brings something to you and away from someone else, be considerate, sensitive and gentle in your wishing.

H – Heart. Ask if your wish is coming from your heart or your head? Put your hand over your heart and ask yourself “is my wish good for my heart and for others?”

So get WISHing!

It occurred to me that I have been doing a lot of ‘putting it out there’ but not so much reporting on what’s coming back. I would like to share with you what happened this week as a perfect example of intention. Since I have been writing this blog, these ‘coincidences’ have been happening all the time.

Keep your best wishes, close to your heart and watch what happens. Tony De Liso

My lovely friend was away at an ashram and she saw a present she wanted to give to me, but they didn’t sell them there. She decided to try the Theosophical Bookshop and discovered they had a free talk on. She invited me and even though a few obstacles cropped up in our way – that’s how you know it’s really important! – we went. I had never heard of the speaker or her work – she is an author, artist, and intuitive.

The universe conspired to get me there.

The author’s name is Cheryl Lee Harnish and she has an amazing story of how she was guided into producing the art she does. Its called fractal art, hearing about it makes it sound like not much more than computer generated art, but when you hear her talk about the process involved and that even though it is random, the result is very powerful. Anyway check out her website. Really appeals to my love of the psychedelic!

The point is, she began to talk about intention. She describe intention as the way we articulate our thoughts into clear shape that we put out into the universe. She emphasised again and again the importance of being really clear about our intentions.

She spoke about conscious cognisance. Knowing something but not knowing how you know. I thought ‘that’s a thing? That happens to me all the time’, then I go out and research my thought and discover it’s true. She talked about the importance of acting on our intuition, which is based in the heart centre, to act on it before can over think it.

There is no instinct like that of the heart. Lord Byron

She also spoke about learning to live from the wisdom of the heart and gave a very powerful breathing exercise to open your heart energy.

I imagined my heart was where the air entered and exited my body. I visualised each molecule of air being reinforced with love before it was allowed to enter into my system. From there it flowed freely and nurtured every cell within my being. Each exhaled breath still carried the vibration of love, and it emanated from me in large waves and surrounded me. I continued the rhythmic love flow of breath. Cheryl Lee Harnish

The heart puts up barriers to avoid refeeling hurt, if you move past these barriers and the scars of old hurt, you can open up your heart and let it shine. The heart is the true home of intuition, not the head. Meditating on this I realise that my greatest hurts come from within, my self doubt, my feelings of being unloved and unworthy, and then they are just reflected back at me by the external world.

We all have an old knot in the heart we wish to untie. Michael Ondaatje

Anyway the point is, she had a powerful message that I needed to hear. I may never have discovered her in my research. Through my friend thinking of me, she was guided to the bookshop and to bring me to this talk.

With equal passion I have sought knowledge. I have wished to understand the hearts of men. I have wished to know why the stars shine. Bertrand Russell

I have put out the intention that I am willing to be open to whatever I need to hear, see, do in order to learn more about intentionality and to fulfil my intentions with this blog. This, to me, was a powerful example of the results of that intention.

Coincidence? Of course. The question is do you believe that coincidence is random or more like the synchroncity that Carl Jung writes about, with a degree of divine intelligence and guidance behind it?

One of Jung’s favorite quotes on synchronicity was from Through the Looking-Glass by Lewis Carroll, in which the White Queen says to Alice: “It’s a poor sort of memory that only works backwards”.

As a side note after I wrote this I went over to Facebook and a friend had posted a fractal art meme. It was the first thing I saw. I am happy to follow this kind of guidance. It may seem nebulous to some of you, but I have learned that intuition is a small, insistent voice, it’s not loud or overbearing. I have to be very quiet and very present within myself to hear it, and if I choose not to, it will just move on – or present me with a painful life lesson that’s harder to miss!

You are never alone or helpless. The force that guides the stars guides you, too. Shrii Shrii Anandamurti

Today’s affirmations I have used before. However I realise now they are a checklist for me. I have them stuck up in my bathroom, and I check in regularly to see if I am living this way today.

To be specific. When I am doing housework – not my favourite thing – I say ‘I love myself, therefore I provide for myself a comfortable home.’ When I exercise I say ‘I love myself, therefore I take loving care of my body.’ I find this makes tasks which can seem unappealing shift into acts of self-love. This makes a huge difference in my energy levels. I feel very drained when I try to ‘force’ myself to do things. By reframing my intentions to ‘I choose to’ rather than ‘I have to’, the whole experience shifts.

It seems self-evident to me that the more I love myself, the more love I have to give. therefore the best resolution I can make on any day is to just love myself more. I am a part of the whole, just as a drop of the ocean in an integral part of the ocean. By loving myself, I love all that is.

This connects me with my heart, and surely the wisdom of this week is how integral the heart is to wishing and manifesting intention.

Your wish for resolution was a prayer. You being here is God’s response, let go and watch the stars came out, in the inside and in the outside. Elizabeth Gilbert

Today’s (re)affirmations:

I love myself, therefore I take loving care of my body. I lovingly feed it nourishing food and beverages. I lovingly groom it and dress it and my body lovingly responds to me with vibrant health and energy.

I love myself, therefore I provide for myself a comfortable home, one that fills all my needs and is a pleasure to be in. I fill the rooms with the vibration of love so that all who enter, myself included, will feel this love and be nourished by it.

I love myself, therefore I work at a job that I truly enjoy doing, one that uses all my talents and abilities, working with and for people that I love and love me, and earning a good income.

I love myself, therefore, I behave in a loving way to all people for I know that that which I give out returns to me multiplied. I only attract loving people in my world for they are a mirror of what I am.

I love myself, therefore I forgive and totally release the past and all past experiences and I am free.

I love myself, therefore I live totally in the now, experiencing each moment as good and knowing that my future is bright, and joyous and secure. Louise Hay

And just for some beautiful words and images, try Cheryl’s card reading here. Get yourself centred, ask your question then pick a card.

Divine Guidance Oracle Cards Reading.

Bless!

Title image: http://therisingpage.com/2013/02/wishes/

4 comments on “How to wish in 8 easy steps

Leave a Reply

