The sounds of silence

sos

Hello darkness, my old friend,
I’ve come to talk with you again,
Because a vision softly creeping,
Left its seeds while I was sleeping,
And the vision that was planted in my brain
Still remains
Within the sound of silence…
And the people bowed and prayed
To the neon god they made
And the sign flashed out its warning
In the words that it was forming
And the sign said, “The words of the prophets are written on the subway walls and tenement halls”
And whispered in the sounds of silence. Paul Simon

I love this song. I heard it as a teenager, trapped in feeling unable to express myself or be heard, except in my secret writing, which no one ever saw.

Play it while you read on…

It’s not a positive song about silence, this is the silence of repression and control, Paul Simon wrote it after the JFK assassination. It expresses a frustration at voices that should be heard being silenced – an inability to communicate effectively. Yet somehow it conveyed to me another aspect of silence – sanctuary.

As a hypersensitive teen it inspired in me a yearning for silence as an escape from the constant cacophony of a life that overwhelmed me. The world was a barrage of noise – often conflicting and confusing. I frequently cut school and wandered the streets of Melbourne, often taking refuge in the majestic quiet of St Paul’s Cathedral. 

Seeking solace in the sounds of silence – I do love a spot of alliteration!

Meditation is a wonderful gateway to serene silence. However it is not always easy to sit quietly. I have found great solace in ancient Vedic wisdom – they use both physical movement – yoga asanas – and chanting as a way to rid the body of its noise and tension to prepare for silence.

After attending a wonderfully rousing chanting session with Swami Shankarananda from the Shiva Ashram in Mt Eliza, I have revisited my love of chanting mantras.

Many years ago I discovered this CD Vocal Toning the Chakras by Jonathan Goldman, who believes that sound vibration is the building blocks of all creation. He is not alone, the whole idea of chanting comes from the idea that by doing so, you are tapping into a primordial vibration of the universe which your body instinctively resonates to.

In Vocal Toning the Chakras Johnathan Goldman demonstrates that sound is a vibrational energy, and that by harnessing the voice as an acoustic instrument and creating specific sounds, you can heal the body through these sonic vibrations. He believes that “when the right vibrations are matched with the right intent, there is no limit to the healing power of sound.” It’s wonderfully relaxing to chant your way through the chakras. I have entered deep bliss states after practicing alongside this sound meditation.

I have also revisited Caroline Myss, and her audio CD Energy Anatomya lecture series based on her book Anatomy of the Spirit. Caroline is a medical intuitive, which means she reads the body’s energy, seeing the presence and origins of disease in a person’s energy body.

According to Caroline Myss, the human mind encodes thought, converts it into matter, and stores it within the body. All this data is stored in your chakras – which are the power centers of a complex energetic “database” that records your entire life. This energy field carries our internal – memories, belief patterns, superstitions – and external – past and current relationships, personal and professional, and profound and traumatic experiences. The energy carried through our chakras directly effects the creation of cell tissues in the body.

Thus our biography becomes our biology. Caroline Myss

Symptoms and illness are directly related to some sort of energy issue in your life, issues made manifest in the body. Our energy system is like a circuit of electricity that we plug into things – people, circumstances, beliefs – with our thoughts. She claims that most people lose energy through their lower three chakras – by “plugging in” to external stuff; people, places, things – and that this is the cause of all disease.

Do you ever worry about other people? Do you ever have resentments? Do you ever feel afraid? If yes, you may be haemorrhaging energy. This can be analogous to an energy currency, where in order to supply the vast amounts of energy you are expending on a fear or resentment, you are borrowing energy from other energy centres, creating a deficit, which eventually is banked with your cell tissue, creating physical disease.

This week I experienced a escalation in my issues with my ex-husband. It coincided with me feeling very fatigued and unmotivated. I was serendipitously reminded of Caroline Myss’ excellent description of the chakric system. As such I thought I was listening to it as research for this blog. Little did I realise I was on the brink of another health crisis because of my thoughts and feelings around my ex.

Thus began some excavation of my belief archeology, unearthing old, negative, limiting beliefs that create fears which interfere with and block my intentions.

What I saw was that my sense of injustice had been triggered. This taps into some tribal beliefs from my family and society about how I should be treated. These ideas are limiting to me if I plug in to them. It seems amazing that you can be limited by not only your own beliefs, but also by those of your tribe, if you are plugged into them.

Your tribe can be your family, your social network, society, or even groups or ideals that you subscribe to. As a feminist, I can plug into defending my rights as a belief system. There’s nothing fundamentally wrong with this, except when I am plugged into a groupthink in this way I can only change at the speed they change. In order to heal myself rapidly, I need to energetically unplug from tribal beliefs and plug in to my higher beliefs – love, forgiveness, vision – allowing the fastest rate of healing and change possible.

In order to stop haemorrhaging energy, I have needed to identify and let go of my energy leaks to my ex. By focusing on his behaviour and how powerless and frustrated it made me, I was actually losing energy to that energetic connection.

Beliefs create reality. What beliefs are you plugging your energy into?

I am responsible for what I see.
 I choose the feelings I experience. 
I set the goals I will achieve. 
Everything that seems to happen to me,
 I ask for and receive as I have asked. Deepak Chopra

As a cherry on top to this sound extravaganza, I have discovered this beautiful mantra song ‘Ek Ong Kar Sat Nam Siri Wahe Guru’. Which is said to awaken all seven chakras.

Ek= One, the essence of all; Oneness. (1st Chakra)

Ong= The primal vibration from which creativity flows “I bow to the Creator.” (2nd Chakra)

Kar= All of Creation. (3rd Chakra)

Sat= Truth. (4th Chakra)

Nam= Name/Identity. (5th Chakra)

Siri= Greatness.  (6th Chakra)

Wahe Guru=The indescribable joy of going from darkness to light. (7th Chakra)

All together this mantra is translated as, “There is one Creator whose name is Truth. Great is the ecstasy of that Supreme Wisdom” or something like that. As mantras are written in an energetic language based on primal sounds and vibrations they don’t translate easily into words.

Now just chant it 108 times with feeling!

It may seem strange that I have spent an entire post on silence writing about sound. You may also be wondering what this has to do with intention.

I am reading a wonderful book called Wishing Well: Making your every wish come true (yeah Baby!) by Paul Pearsall. In it he describes the rules for wishing well, which I will share with you in my next post. (Oooh, don’t you just love a cliffhanger?)

The first rule is pertinent to share here though. It is SD-SU-CD.

Say what? Sit down, shut up and calm down. Basically, in order to manifest anything, the first thing you have to do is be very silent and still and serene. I’ll going that to coin that as the three S’s.

Now I don’t know about you, but I can’t just SD-SU-CD on demand. Its a process of unravelling all the stress, tension, and busyness of life. That’s when chanting is beneficial. Also belting out Wuthering Heights in the car really helps.

So my friends, sometimes to get real, real quiet, first you have to get real, real loud.

Today’s affirmation:

I am letting go of old beliefs and feelings that do not serve my highest good. I am replacing them with loving and positive beliefs that I deserve all the love, fulfilment, and joy life has to offer. I am expressing myself with exuberance and loving abandon. 

Bless!

PS: I’ve added a reading list too. Click here or the link at the top of the page.

Title image: http://images.coveralia.com/audio/s/Simon_y_Garfunkel-Sounds_Of_Silence-Frontal.jpg

2 comments on “The sounds of silence

  1. It appears that you are very in tune with silence. I seek silence wherever I go and am usually able to tune out unwanted external noise except in my own apartment. I hear a humming and buzzing through the bedroom wall caused by a fan motor below me. It affects my energy and throws off my balance. I have asked to move to another apartment. Great post!

    Like

Leave a Reply

