Living in the heart

crystals heart stick

Display a heart of boundless love for all the world. The Buddha

My dream life has been so vivid lately. Many writers keep a dream diary for inspiration and to record any recurring images or ideas that bubble up from the subconscious. Dreams are so hard to remember once consciousness snaps you back into daily business-as-usual mode.

That’s it! I am stating my intention to start writing a dream diary.

About a week ago I had a particularly vivid dream, and I remember it because I felt compelled to write it down. I dreamt about this book, The Heart Codes by Paul Pearsall. In my dream I was with a female relative, someone close to me but who’s passed over, I think it was my paternal grandmother. Although, she was really a composite of maternal figures from my life, in the way that can only happen in dreams. She said “Remember when we went to St. … (somewhere in WA) and saw the premonition stone?”

Okay, so here it gets weird – it is a dream after all. She told me the book was about a man discovering a block of stone, situated somewhere in the wilderness of Western Australia, which was infused with the powers of premonition. It was literally connected to the heart of the world. Maybe it was a talking stone? I had just been reading about Moses and the burning bush – maybe my subconscious was playing with the idea of spiritually incarnated natural objects? Anyway, I said to my ancestor, “I just bought that book!” Which I had, I mean, in real life I had just ordered it on Book Depository along with another book by the same author called Wishing Well. It was weird, this wise, old woman telling me about the heart of the Earth. I had also started reading Drumvalo Melchizedek’s book Living in the Heart. It’s a very kooky book, it is testing my powers of disbelief suspension, amazing stuff.

So what’s the point of all this? Other than a captive audience for my dream interpretation, that is. It feels – with all this synchronicity about heart books and heart dreams – as if I am being compelled to focus on the heart. These books are all about the wisdom of the heart energy. My dream was about the heart energy of the Earth, conveyed by the wise feminine archetype. And who am I to contradict her? This is my fourth intention: health and the heart chakra.

health (n.) Old English hælþ “wholeness, a being whole, sound or well,” from Proto-Germanic hailitho “whole, uninjured, of good omen” Old Norse helge “holy, sacred;” Old English hælan “to heal”. Online Etymology Dictionary 

Health comes from the word whole. Not just physical wholeness, but mental, spiritual, emotional, and energetic. I have connected my fourth intention to the fourth chakra, the heart chakra, which is about the energy of love. And, if you think about it, health really is the optimum expression of self-love. It takes love and commitment to self through nutrition, body movement, mental and spiritual health practices, to create health. I have to say I felt really miffed that as I move into my fourth intention, health, I feel really sick. Then it occurred to me that was the perfect place to begin. So often an intention comes out of recognising what we don’t want.

The wound is the place where the Light enters you. Rumi

It’s also a really interesting experiment in attention. I wrote in my last post that intention and attention are interrelated words. They share a common root in tendere, which is Latin for ‘to stretch.’ Intention means to stretch inward and attention means to stretch toward. In meditation this morning, I noticed how my intention was for healing but my attention kept going back to how sick I felt. My mind is very flighty at the best of times and when I’m feeling sick – phooey! I was trying to focus on sending energy to my base chakra to then radiate out through my physical body. After all, a healthy flow through that chakra is said to stimulate blood flow, which is essential to the immune system. My mind would focus on my base chakra for about a second then drift into thoughts of “my throat is on fire, my glands are like golfballs,”. Base chakra – focus on the red glow. “My face is hot and prickly, my whole body aches.” Base chakra. “Why did I get sick?” Base chakra, and so on. It’s easy to see the conflicting messages I am sending here, how can I expect to manifest a healing intention if I can’t keep my attention on it, and subsequently send such mixed messages to my body?

Our exclusive dependence on rational thought and language has obscured our natural ability to sense the flow of energy. Ichi Lee

It is said that the subconscious mind is completely non-selective and without discernment or judgement. It just acts out whatever messages we send it. If I tell it I’m feeling sick, it will provide, If I tell it I’m healed, it will oblige. If I send contradictory messages, at best, I’ll get a bit of both. My intuition is that this virus is a release of some kind. I believe I am letting go of something in my body to facilitate energetic healing and development. Before you scoff and cry “woo-woo”, I have some very powerful experiences of this. This allows me to surrender to the illness and see it as a means to further investigate my subtle energy system. Sometimes the best way to learn to see things in alignment is to observe them when they are out of alignment.

“If you desire healing, let yourself fall ill, let yourself fall ill.” Rumi

My son was diagnosed with autism at age two. He had just had a battery of vaccinations six months prior, after which his language and social development abruptly stopped and then deteriorated. At the time there was copious media stories claiming that there was a link between the MMR vaccine and autism. Since then, those studies have been shown to be flawed, and the medical profession has not upheld this link. However there is evidence that giving this vaccination to children with compromised immune systems is dangerous, and I have yet to meet a child with autism who doesn’t have a compromised immune system.

Yes, I know, I should have issued a tangent alert! Anyway the point of this story is when my son was about six I began seeing a wonderful homeopath with him, who after she stabilised some behavioural issues, encouraged me to start him on a course of an homeopathic MMR treatment.

Homeopathy cures a larger percentage of cases than any other form of treatment and is beyond doubt safer and more economical. Mahatma Gandhi

Homeopathy is amazing, it works on the theory that ‘like heals like’. Basically a homeopath will give a microscopic does of a (usually) natural substance known to create the symptoms present, if it was given to a healthy person. Homeopathy is energy healing in the sense that the remedy is really only infused with the energy of the substance, so as not to carry any toxicity. You may have heard of rescue remedy, which is a combination of Bach flower essences used to treat shock and anxiety? Read more about it here.

The principle of treating “like with like” dates back to Hippocrates (460-377BC) but in its current form, homeopathy has been widely used worldwide for more than 200 years. Society Of Homeopaths

Anyway, my son went through a four dose course of homeopathic MMR – which was basically a homeopathic tincture of the vaccine itself. This treatment took many months, as we had to wait for the effects of each dose to settle before giving him the next dose. And boy was there effects!

Homeopathic treatment strengthens a person’s health, acting as a catalyst, stimulating and directing the body’s ability to fight infection as well as resolving any underlying susceptibility to disease. Homeopathy views many symptoms in its quest to treat underlying tendencies to ill health. In this context, mental and emotional symptoms can sometimes play an important part in understanding this susceptibility. Australian Homeopathic Association

After each dose he developed very high fevers and was sick with ‘flu-like symptoms for 4-7 days. The homeopath told me not to medicate his fever unless it went above 40 degrees – where it can become problematic – as fever is an important element in child development. (This was a shock to a mum who had bought the lie that children should be given panadol or nurofen when feverish). His fever hovered around 39 degrees, never quite tipping 40. The homeopath had told me that like a eucalyptus pod which will not sprout without fire, our developmental processes – including the development of the immune system – requires the energetic fire of fevers to ‘unlock’ its progressive stages. Childhood illness actually serves the function of advancing development and to suppress illness can be stifling this development.

The essential point is that health is not merely the absence of illness, as conventional medicine presumes. Rather, it is the balance between acute inflammatory and chronic illnesses; when you suppress the first in childhood, you’re likely to get much more chronic illness in adulthood. Dr Philip Incao

Each time my son had a dose of homeopathic MMR, and then recovered from his fever, he had a HUGE developmental spurt. His language improved, his communication and social skills improved, his attention to tasks improved, his anxiety levels improved – and he has never again suffered the autistic ‘meltdowns’  from the complete inability to manage his emotions as he did before – and his imagination was finally ‘switched on’. By the end of that year there was a massive improvement which continued throughout his primary school years. At the end of last year he was tested as functioning within the normal range. Now, except for a few lingering issues like low-level anxiety, social development, and being a little immature for his age, his symptoms are almost gone. Now, I am not making any wild claims here, autism is a neurological condition and as such he probably isn’t cured of it, but his symptoms have been significantly reduced. I am also not saying you should not get medical intervention for a sick child, but it is worth finding a doctor who practises both allopathic and alternative medicines as they are less free and easy with the unneccesary pharmaceuticals.

There have been two great revelations in my life: The first was bebop, the second was homeopathy. Dizzy Gillespie

Since then I have noticed that when I get sick, it is often after dealing with some heavy duty emotional stuff. I felt this illness come on as I was doing inversion poses in yoga on Monday. I know what you’re thinking, how absurd! I was inverted, with my head below my heart, and I felt a wave pass through my sinuses and nasal passages. It felt like when you are swimming and get a wave of water up your nose. It was more energetic than physical, but I was left with the physical symptoms which (probably because I just powered through my week instead of stopping to rest and allow my body to heal) have developed into throat and head cold. Mind you I also have some issues of speaking my truth come up this week, so the throat stuff is not surprising.

Energy healing is based on the supposition that illness results from disturbances in the body’s energies and energy fields and can be addressed via interventions into those energies and energy fields. Jed Diamond

After that healing experience with my son, I avoid medication when we have cold or ‘flu symptoms, most of the time they just run their course, I use homeopathic remedies, vitamins and herbs to strengthen the immune system and alleviate the symptoms. I see a homeopath and kinesiologist. There’s frankincense burning and essential oils. My friends joke that my place like hippie commune, complete with prayer flags, wind chimes, buddha statues, and wafts of smudge smoke. Apart from the odd cold which he blows off in a few days, my son is extremely healthy.

Real medicine can only exist when it penetrates into knowledge which embraces the human being in respect to body, soul and spirit. Rudolf Steiner

I’m sure all this talk of dreams and healing viruses is hard to swallow for some of you, but the reality is that our body systems are highly intelligent and organised. They want to be healthy, and if you can tap into that force, it’s a pretty amazing experience. Words fall short of truly capturing it. And yes, I am open to the possibility that it’s all in my head, a massive placebo effect, but it doesn’t feel like it.

There is no way to tell if we are the pioneers of a visionary new age, whisking humanity into the high vibrations of an interdimensional love party, or post-modern Don Quixotes attacking techno-industrial windmills with our flimsy, rolled-up yoga mats. Jonathan Talat Phillips

And on the subject of hearts and love and healing, a lovely addendum to the idea of random acts of kindness, from a previous post:

I love that she honours the memory of her husband in this way! So heart and health. It’s all about love, loving ourselves, loving our fellows, loving the world. Healing begins within and radiates out. And it can be so simple, like this lady waving at children. She harnessed the love she felt for her husband and sent it out into the world through those children. It obviously had a profound effect on them. How many of those kids have absent parents or abusive parents? How many of them leave an empty house or a house without a word of love. Who knows the flow-on effect of a simple wave and smile, that made them wave and smile, and transformed their mood and sense of belonging in the world. 

The healing power of even the most microscopic exchange with someone who knows in a flash precisely what you’re talking about because she experienced that thing too cannot be overestimated. Cheryl Strayed

Here’s some healing affirmations for the heart called Loving Treatment from Louise Hay:

Deep at the centre of my being there is an infinite well of love. I now allow this love to flow to the surface. It fills my heart, my body, my mind, my consciousness, my very being, and radiates out from me in all directions and returns to me multiplied. The more love I use and give, the more I have to give, the supply is endless. The use of love makes me feel good; it is an expression of my inner joy. Yes, I love myself, therefore I take loving care of my body. I lovingly feed it nourishing food and beverages. I lovingly groom it and dress it and my body lovingly responds to me with vibrant health and energy. I love myself, therefore I provide for myself a comfortable home, one that fills all my needs and is a pleasure to be in. I fill the rooms with the vibration of love so that all who enter, myself included, will feel this love and be nourished by it. I love myself, therefore I work at a job that I truly enjoy doing, one that uses all my talents and abilities, working with and for people that I love and love me, and earning a good income. I love myself, therefore, I behave in a loving way to all people for I know that that which I give out returns to me multiplied. I only attract loving people in my world for they are a mirror of what I am. I love myself, therefore I forgive and totally release the past and all past experiences and I am free. I love myself, therefore I love totally in the now, experiencing each moment as good and knowing that my future is bright, and joyous and secure, for I am a beloved child of the universe and the universe lovingly takes care of me now and forever more. And so it is.

Bless!

One comment on “Living in the heart

  1. I feel that I should add a little note here for those who are interested in my son’s treatment. I realise I wrote only about one homeopathy protocol, because it was such a powerful healing experience. The reality is my son’s healing was a result of many modalities including mainstream ‘early intervention’ speech therapy, psychology, and social skills training. He went on a naturopathic/homeopathic treatment protocol to heal his gut and I changed his diet at age 4. He also has regular kinesiology and neuro-emotional treatments. We (sporadically) meditate together, but I meditate for him every day. When is is unwell, tired, or stressed his symptoms do return briefly and less intensely than before. I use them as a barometer for his wholistic health. It’s been a long haul and a lot of work both for him and his carers, I have had to be an advocate for his needs at school since kindergarten. If anyone would like more detail, please contact me, it’s a subject I love to talk about. Anything is possible!

    Like

Leave a Reply

