Seven intentions for seven chakras

falags 2

After publishing my last post I was absolutely wracked with self-doubt. Where was I going with all this? I love a tangent as much as the next person but I had started a blog on intentions, not chakra healing – for crying out loud!

I have learned to allow these emotional waves – tsunamis at times – to just ebb and flow. Or in the case of the emotional tsunami, to flood the whole dang place and render me a clean slate. These waves seem to be a reaction to “putting myself out there.” Being an introvert at heart, I keep a lot of my beliefs private, so publishing them for anyone to read can be a little confronting. I also can be a prey to great self-doubt, something which has stopped me in the past from doing the things I love and believe in. So I let this reaction ride and do what I have learned to do, just be still. Allow the feelings to pass, and stay true to my intentions. What’s the alternative, a life run by self-limiting doubt and fear?

The greater danger for most of us lies not in setting our aim too high and falling short; but in setting our aim too low, and achieving our mark —Michelangelo Buonarroti

As such, I spent a blessed and blissed day of sanctuary spent resting and reading. A practice my lovely friend calls ‘extreme self-care.’

I am learning to allow myself such days, once an impossibility with three young children, work, study, and a rather demanding (now ex-) husband. Now life has changed and I make the time and have a degree of solitude built into my life to ensure I can recharge and rejuvenate.

Speaking of recharging, I read somewhere that the chakras are like batteries for our bodies – sorry that I can’t source that quote, I read so much online on my phone while I was watching my son play cricket, I’m not sure what I read where – but I really liked the analogy. I have been doing a chakra meditation every morning and I love it so much that I go to sleep early just to get to my favourite part of the day again. This from a reformed night owl!

Here is the closing of that meditation and a completely accurate reflection of how blissed out and connected I feel at that time.

Your body is full of energy, your emotions are harmonious and warm, your thoughts are bright and clear, your heart is open and loving, you are kind compassionate and understanding, you communicate clearly and cleanly, you are able to see your inner being, and you are able to know the truth of who you really are. Simply use intention to allow the maximum flow possible. Jeddah Mali

I thought I might have been a bit whacko with my seemingly tenuous link between chakras and manifesting intentions. However in yet another lesson called ‘trust your intuition’ I discovered that the correlation between healthy chakras and manifesting is well documented. 

A quick google search on ‘chakras and manifesting’ put the idea to bed that I was alone in this kookiness. There’s a huge body of work, with super-qualified chakra expert Anodea Judith having written a book all about it called Creating on Purpose: The Spiritual Technology of Manifesting Through the Chakras – and if you go to this site and register your email you get two free audio meditation downloads. They also have some wonderful interviews with their authors. I’m a big fan of free stuff.

It seems my intuition about the importance of balancing the root chakra as a key to manifesting and flow was pretty spot on. Anodea Judith believes that is the greatest block to manifesting, as the base chakra is key in converting our energetic intentions into action in the physical world. She says it is possible to clear the blocks and misalignment in our chakras though, and that’s what her book is all about. As Thoreau (again, sigh) so eloquently puts it:

If you have built castles in the air, your work need not be lost; that is where they should be. Now put the foundations under them —Henry David Thoreau

Here’s some highlights of an interview with Anodea and co-author Lion Goodman, if you are interested the interview is available online here.

The jist of Creating on Purpose is that all creation is co-creation between energy forces which are always at work, and through awareness and energetic healing we can become a clear ‘bridge’ for these forces to flow through, and we can quite literally use our consciousness to change the world:

You are an active agent in the creation of reality. Two powerful evolutionary forces are at work simultaneously— one from the top down, and the other from the bottom up. Spirit, or the light of consciousness, is evolving downward into embodiment, infusing matter with Spirit. At the same time, matter is evolving upward into Spirit, into conscious awareness. You are a rainbow bridge that ties these two forces together. You stand between heaven and earth as both a co-creation of these two forces and a co-creator with these two forces. You are being trained to become a more capable co-creator with the Universe. You have the ability to draw down your own vision of what you want to create in your life and to manifest it here in the physical world. Your soul has a purpose for being here.

The ancient vedic texts called this upward journey mukti, or freedom; Anodea calls it the ‘current of liberation’. This current enables you to liberate yourself from limitations and attachments. It is the commonly conceptualised path of enlightenment by ascending from the lower chakras through to the crown chakra.

Less understood is the downward path, which the ancient masters called bhukti meaning “enjoyment”. The descending current of bhukti is the process by which consciousness densifies into physical form. In its simplest form this can be thought of as the process used in any body movement. When you walk your consciousness tells your brain to instruct your body to walk, this thought travels via energy signals to the nerves in your legs, where it manifests physically as you walking. 

This downward path of energy is the process of manifestation, where ideas and intentions catalyse and are transformed into physical reality. This process begins at the seventh chakra at the crown and moves down to the base or first chakra.

In Creating on Purpose, Anodea and Lion outline seven manifestation principles, which describe how the seven chakras are involved in various stages of manifestation. Lion is very clear that this is not about sitting still and manifesting abundance, this is co-creation between our energetic and physical forms which requires action.

For an intention to manifest there has to be an idea in your consciousness (7th chakra) you visualise it, including looking at all kind of related things and letting your imagination play with the idea (6th chakra), you communicate with people who can be helpful and talk about it (5th chakra), you ensure right relationships around this intention (4th chakra), you create action plans (3rd chakra), you infuse your intention with passion (2nd chakra) and you actualise the intention in the physical world (1st chakra).

The other process is dealing with resistance. Like my aforementioned reaction to putting myself out there, it is natural to experience resistance to any new intention or action. You need to identify and remove these obstacles and unblock your chakras to allow the current to flow freely.

Here’s the seven manifestation principles and some of the potential blocks you may experience in relation to each chakra/stage:

Chakra Seven: Consciousness Creates is the idea or intention which can be blocked by the limiting beliefs you have about yourself.

Chakra Six: Vision Vitalises is the process of insight and using imagination to think outside box which requires your imagination to be flowing and unblocked, and your use of visualisation. 

Chakra Five: Conversation Catalyses is the use of communication, either in your own thoughts or in conversation with others, to further your intention and can be blocked by the inner critic and self-defeating thoughts.

Chakra Four: Love Enlivens is the way you relate to other people as part of the co-creation process. Blockages occur in your old relationships patterns with people, such as being unable to ask for what you need or fear of rejection.

Chakra Three: Power Produces is harnessing your will power to create action plans, which can be blocked if you have stifled your will power in any way, or by a lack of focus in your will in the face of distractions or conflicting choices.

Chakra Two: Pleasure Pleases is about engaging your passion, pleasurable feelings, and your positive emotions in this process, and can be blocked by suppressed feelings, sense of unworthiness, and guilt.

Chakra One: Matter Matters is the final stage where intention become reality in the physical form and can be blocked by a feeling of not being grounded in your body, or not being physically present in acting out your plans, such as not honouring your appointments and commitments.

First say to yourself what you would be; and then do what you have to do —Epictetus

Whereas Anodea believes blocks in the 1st chakra are the main obstacle, her co-author Lion Goodman believes the main obstacle is our limiting beliefs, and these can affect and ultimately block all the chakras.

Where do these blocks come from? You created them! That’s right. You created them either to protect yourself from pain or as an expression of a belief you were taught. So to use the analogy of Lion Goodman, it’s time to clean out the belief closet!

Whether you think you can or you can’t, you are usually right —Henry Ford

There are some great visualisations available online for clearing blocks and drawing energy down the chakras. Like this meditation.

Even if you don’t believe in this theory of chakras affecting energy flow, one of the key factors in the reading I have done on manifesting intentions is the ability to maintain a clear, unwavering focus. When I’m feeling anxious and emotionally unbalanced, I’m unable to focus on anything, much less manifest anything. Like attracts like, so balanced and harmonious flow is more likely to attract abundance. And having experienced my energy flow, as well as the opposite, it makes sense to me that being in a state of disharmony would affect manifesting intentions into reality. I am more than willing to believe I need internal balance and harmony to manifest abundance. I also like the combination of energy work and pragmatism that Lion and Anodea recommend.

This has got me to thinking more and more about the connection between my seven intentions and the seven chakras, and the way they align is so amazing! Here’s how I see them now…

  1. Home – base
 chakra
  2. Community – sacral chakra
  3. 
Purpose – solar plexus chakra
  4. Health – heart chakra
  5. Abundance – throat chakra (relates to thoughts and communicating ‘I am’ affirmations)
  6. Joy – third eye chakra (the insight that joy is your natural state of being)
  7. Love – crown chakra (the deep wisdom that love is truth of who you really are)

So cool. Here’s seven affirmations for seven chakras, I am on a roll (actually these are from Louise Hay, bless her cotton socks!)

By the way, if you have a hard time with affirmations, thinking they are perhaps self-centred and self-indulgent as I used to, remember what the Course in Miracles says “When I am healed I am not healed alone.” When you heal yourself, you heal all of creation. So come on, once more with feeling!

I love myself therefore I provide myself a comfortable home.

I love myself therefore I take loving care of my body.

I love myself therefore I work at a job that I truly enjoy doing.

I love myself therefore I think and behave in a loving way toward all people.

I love myself therefore I forgive and release the past.

I love myself therefore I live in the now, experience each moment as good and knowing that my future is bright and joyous and secure.

I love myself therefore I trust that I am our spirit and that divine wisdom guides me.

Bless!

One comment on “Seven intentions for seven chakras

  1. Awesome! Did the same Google search and found your blog. What I was thinking.. is what you worked out. Thanks! Saves me a lot of time. 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

