A community of quirky wishers

yellow birds

I have been waiting and waiting for my copy of the Wishing Year – the book I based this blog on. It finally arrived yesterday.

Reading it again, I feel as if I have been reunited with a long lost friend.

As I have said before, I deeply relate to the story told by author Noelle Oxenhandler – her mixture of hope and skepticism about the results of wishing and her reticence to publicly declare her wishes or to even ask for such profane things as real estate and romance – as opposed to more lofty wishes for peace and an end to world poverty and hunger.

Unlike her friend Carole, who is described in the book, as the “Queen of Putting It Out There.” Carole, who in her quest for love, invited all her friends to participate in a ceremony where she dressed in white, married herself, and then handed out business cards to every person she met for months after, detailing the man she desired.

Eventually, a friend said to her ‘I know the perfect guy!’ They met and have been happily married for 15 years. She also manifested four houses in France and successful art exhibitions for her paintings. Impressive, huh?

I wish I had Carole’s manifesting chutzpah, but alas, I am of the quieter, more introspective end of the personality spectrum. More like Noelle.

My deep enjoyment in sharing Noelle’s wishing journey, and her experiences, doubts and dreams (albeit through the pages of a book) got me thinking about my second intention – community.

Birds of  feather, flock together

I felt a moment’s sadness, that while I have many lovely communities in my life, I don’t have a community I can share this particular journey with. Sorry, I should clarify. I have this blog, which is a community, of course. However I would love a physical community where we could light candles and drink tea and discuss all manner of wishful thinking.

Immediately after I had this thought, I noticed a section in the back of the book featuring ideas for starting book clubs and wishing groups.

“A wishing group!” I thought, “How absolutely wonderful!”

Looking online it seemed to me that wishing might have become a bit passé, a bit 2000’s. There were a few groups on the “Law of Attraction”, but I wasn’t sure they were for me.

So what kind of community do I want?

I want a community that reads books on manifesting, but is more than a book group, it is a place to discuss ideas, sure, but also to experiment and share experiences.

I have a hankering, a yearning, if you will, to meet people like me. Is there a group of critical thinkers who engage in wishing practice? Are there people like me, who when meditating on the 3rd eye chakra, and deeply visualizing the vastness of the universe, have William Shatner’s voice in their head saying:

“Space – the final frontier”

Or is it Leonard Nimoy? I don’t know, but the fact I care – not to mention that my meditation practice is infiltrated by pop culture references – tells you more about me than you’ll ever need to know.

I don’t know the specifics of this group of people, but I know their qualities. Open-minded, with a quirky sense of humour, intelligent and thoughtful, kind and joyful. And, of course, fun.

So what constitutes a community?

The word “community” is derived from the Old French communité from the Latin communitas (com, “with/together” +munus, “gift”), a broad term for fellowship or organised society (Wikipedia). The gift of together-ness. I like that.

It seems the desire for community is strong within us humans. Originally we needed each other for physical survival, to be exiled from the clan usually meant death.

These days, the need is more emotional, life is lonely when you can’t find your peeps.

Of course creating a community involves a degree of risk, of making yourself emotionally and physically available to others, but as the ever-wise M Scott Peck writes:

“There can be no vulnerability without risk; there can be no community without vulnerability; there can be no peace, and ultimately no life, without community.”

According to Peck we all have a deep yearning in our soul for compassionate understanding from our fellows, for deep respect and true listening. Yep, that’s what I want.

Here’s a lovely affirmation by Louise Hay:

I am connected to all of life. I open my heart to all of the beings on the planet. I help create a world where it is safe for all of us to love each other. What is true of me is true of everyone. We are all learning to look within ourselves to find the wisdom to live harmoniously. Each person is part of the harmonious whole.

Before I sign off I have to acknowledge a very personal intention I have today.

It seems I have reached that stage in life where I become responsible for my parents. I am in the process of assisting my dad to find the best care for his needs. There is some negativity around this transition from both of my parents, let’s face it, it’s a difficult time for our family.

I am grateful to be in the mindset, through writing this blog, of being very aware of my thinking and intentions. So today I send out this intention:

I am communicating effectively and with love to ensure the smoothest transition in the most expedient timeframe into the best resolution of this situation for the highest good of all involved.

And so it is. Bless!

4 comments on “A community of quirky wishers

Leave a Reply

