Out with the old, in with the new

buddha 3 effects

“We are what we think. All that we are arises with our thoughts. With our thoughts, we make the world.” Buddha

The tricky part about believing that our intentions create our reality is what to do when negative thinking or even a spectacularly bad mood hits.

I realise my last post was very upbeat, and that’s how I felt at the time. Inspired, in the flow, super-confident of my manifesting abilities. Since then, being back at work, back in the suburbs, preparing for, what quite frankly feels like, ‘The Onslaught’ of the year kicking into full gear, I just haven’t felt quite so zen.

This seems reasonable, surely one is not expected to maintain this positive frame of mind 100% of the time? A few stolen grumpy hours under the doona with 20 episodes of a trashy TV series, in complete panic about how to pay one’s car registration, that’s okay, right?

Reading further on into Wayne Dyer’s Wishes Fulfilled put an end to that kind of thinking.

“Never let your attentiveness to what you are in the process of manifesting be side-tracked by external pressures of any kind”

Never? Like, ever? Even when I’m super-hormonal? Geesh.

I don’t know about you, but I have great intentions when they are new, but then I waft and wane a bit. I get a bit over being ‘good’ all the time. I get lazy and well, bored.

All the writers I have read seem to agree on the importance of attention and consistency in manifesting intentions. Apparently you can undo all your good work with some inattentive thinking.

This makes sense to me. My thoughts have been running this show with a news-flash like stream across my mind for my entire life, I don’t ask for them, they’re just there, and the majority of them are not particularly helpful.

There’s a lot of old recordings playing,

“why did you do that? you did what? again? your writing sucks! who do you think you are anyway? they don’t like you, they think you’re a pretentious twat”.

Or just banal rubbish like “how does the windscreen get so dirty on the inside?”

I could go on, like my mind often does, but I won’t.

Now I don’t pretend to understand the mind, or where thoughts come from. I only know that I don’t make this stuff up, it’s just there. If I could choose my thoughts, they’d all be positive, because that’s what I want in my life. So I tend to agree with the concept that Deepak Chopra and Wayne Dyer talk about. That I may not create my thoughts, but I do observe them. I am the constant presence that hears and reacts to my thoughts. Which means I get to choose which thoughts I like and which ones I don’t.

Like the old story of the two wolves. You know the one. It’s an old Cherokee Legend. A grandfather talks to his grandson.

“There’s a battle that goes on inside of all humans.”

He said, “My son, the battle is between two wolves inside us all.

One is Evil – It is anger, envy, jealousy, sorrow, regret, greed, arrogance, self-pity, guilt, resentment, inferiority, lies, false pride, superiority, and ego.

The other is Good – It is joy, peace, love, hope, serenity, humility, kindness, benevolence, empathy, generosity, truth, compassion and faith.”

The grandson thought about it for a minute and then asked his grandfather: “Which wolf wins?”

The old Cherokee simply replied, “The one you feed.”

My friend also puts it this way, let your unwanted thoughts die of neglect.

It’s like positive parenting, focus on the good, ignore the bad, unless it involves fire or sharp objects.

Rolling along with the analogies…

Imagine your mind is like a computer, it has been programmed to act in certain ways from birth. However, not all of these programs are helpful. Some may have been encoded by well meaning parents or teachers who constantly told you that the world was a dangerous, scary place and you should value safety above all else. This encoded you to be fearful, worrying, ever vigilant of potential threats, adverse to risk-taking.

However, now you want to embrace the abundance of the universe. As the sage Norwegian eighties pop group A-Ha once sang “it’s no better to be safe than sorry”. You want to take risks. You want to be open and receptive.

In order to do this you can reprogram your mind with new thoughts and affirmations, like this one from the I am discourses by Saint Germain:

 “I am the almighty governing presence of my life and my world. I am the health, well-being and harmony, self-sustained, which carries me through everything that confronts me.”

I also find doing a regular stocktake of my thinking helpful. This is something 12 Step programs refer to as an inventory. You basically write out all your angry, fearful, guilty, negative stuff and then you ask yourself what made you think or act like that? Usually there will be these old programs running, that you may not even be conscious of. Things that, in the words of Mary A. Hall:

“you having been believing were the real you”

But they’re not! They are probably someone else’s thoughts that you picked up somewhere and just accepted as truth.

I believe these old programs contribute to addictive behaviours and depression, speaking as someone who has suffered from depression – since puberty tipped me over from being a sensitive child into a full-blown, hormone-fuelled nihilist.

Depression is exacerbated in me by a lack of speaking my truth, feeling disempowered, repressing anger, being inauthentic, fear of other peoples reactions, a lack of self care, and self-abandonment.

In other words, the complete opposite of Shakespeare’s adage:

“To thine own self be true.”

Lest we all feel the task is too hard, I’ll finish with two suggestions Wayne Dyer gives, which I think are very manageable and which should tide us over until we become fully enlightened beings.

1. Acts of kindness

Studies have shown that serotonin and oxytocin (chemicals that make us feel good) levels are increased when giving, receiving, and witnessing acts of kindness.

2. Five minutes before sleep

Spend the five minutes before sleep thinking and feeling into positive “I am” statements. This ensures you enter your subconscious dream state with the positive intentions you wish to imprint on your subconscious mind – as opposed to all your worries and concerns. This will ensure you wake feeling positive and aligned each and every day. It can also assist in physical healing as your body heals during restful sleep.

And finally, here’s an affirmation I love from The Book of Stones: Who They Are & What They Teach by Robert Simmons and Naisha Ahsian – for Rose Quartz.

I open my heart to receive and express the energies of love. My mind, heart, body, soul and spirit blend in perfect harmony as I manifest my true self.

Bless.

Further reading on Acts of Kindness:

http://www.randomactsofkindness.org/kindness-research/2153-elation-the-amazing-effect-of-witnessing-acts-of-kindness

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/priya-advani/random-acts-of-kindness_b_3412718.html

http://www.actionforhappiness.org/10-keys-to-happier-living/do-things-for-others?gclid=CLbB5LnXpLwCFQQwpAodVC4Ajg

Leave a Reply

