Feeling your flow

flow

This week I found myself a comfy banana lounge by the sea and settled in for some serious research. Okay, serious might not be an apt description. It was actually pretty fun reading all about manifesting and the law of attraction, and there may have been some snoozing – also known as beta brain-wave processing, I’ll have you know.

I read about five books on the subject, some more speed-reading than research, but I think I have some key ideas that seem to pop up in most of the theories, and being the loving soul that I am, I’m happy to share my findings with you.

The first step seems to be gratitude and thankfulness, both for what is, and what is being manifested. Rhonda Byrne reminds us that “like attracts like”, positivity and thankfulness attract more to be positive and thankful for.

The second step is to use your imagination, but really focus on the feelings. Visualise your completed goal as if it’s already happened. Feel as you would if the thing you desire had already come to pass. Feelings are the pathway to the subconscious. By feeling the intention you imprint on your subconscious which then directs your conscious mind. Wayne Dyer always envisages a completed book when he writes, he knows he can write it because in his imagination it already exists. Sayonara writer’s block!

The third step is inviting ‘The Flow’, the divine, the source, spirit, God, the universe, all that is – whatever way you think of it – to guide you.

Think of it as designing a life, imagine it, feel it and assume that it is so. Be consistent. Do it all the time, let all your thinking be positive, thankful, and imaginative.

Try this exercise Wayne Dyer uses: recite positive “I am” statements. Say whatever you want to manifest. I am loving. I am joy. I am abundantly fulfilled. I am vibrantly healthy. I am working my dream job. 

Remember it’s ‘I am’, not ‘I will be’. The field of possibilities exist only in the present moment. ‘I will be’ is saying it’s eternally just out of reach. How frustrating would that be? Also only use positive statements. So instead of ‘I am not depressed’ say ‘I am depression free’.

The books I read so far were Wayne Dyer Wishes Fulfilled, Esther and Jerry Hicks Money, and the Law of Attraction, Joe Vitale The Key and Rhonda Byrne The Magic. These are the big names in manifesting and intentionality. I also read a book by Summer McStravick called Creative Flowdreaming. Check her website out flowdreaming.com.

The Flow is pretty much whatever your concept of life is. For me, it is living life with loving attitude and effortless actions. Allowing life to unfold and trusting it is all as it should be. You know, go with the flow. Summer writes that the Flow is always aligned with kind of person I wish to be, by imaging my intentions, then allowing the Flow in, I can be assured of manifesting the greatest outcome in alignment with the compassionate, loving, generous person I wish to be. And that the outcome will be for the good of all humanity, as the Flow is aligned with everyone’s highest good.

I was glad I read her book, it was practical and sensible. Some people say intention is all in the details, that you have to be really specific, I was relieved that Summer suggested leaving “the Flow” some room to move. I think now the pressure is off choosing the curtains for my dream home, I can have some fun playing with making vision boards!

After all that information and trying out some of the simple exercises, I started to see some serious synchronicity in my day today. During my tea break I read a blog I like. The blogger was off to Uganda with a children’s sponsorship project. Every morning since the typhoon in the Philippines I pray and send them light. I have donated money and often wondered what more I should do. I read this blog and thought “I’d like to sponsor a child”. So I followed the links to the organisation she mentioned and chose the option of ‘no preference’ for the child’s age and country – going with the flow. It came up with a child in the Philippines! So I now sponsor a little boy called Roque.

Back at work I saw a book whose title intrigued me Zero Limits: the Quest for Miracles Through Ho’oponopono. Ho’oponopono, what a great word, what’s not to be intrigued by? It was written by Joe Vitale (who wrote The Key) so I thought I’ll go with this flow. At lunchtime I was listening to a recorded talk and the speaker mentioned Ho’oponopono. Twice in an hour? I’d never heard the word before!

So what is it? I’m glad you asked! Hoʻoponopono (ho-o-pono-pono) is an ancient Hawaiian practice of reconciliation and forgiveness. Morrnah Simeona, a modern Hawaiian healer adapted the traditional hoʻoponopono of family mutual forgiveness to the address the broader social issues of the modern society. After Simeona’s passing in 1992, her former student Ihaleakala Hew Len, co-authored two books with Joe Vitale. The mantra they use is “I love you. I’m sorry. Please forgive me. Thank you.” It basically is thought to undo all karma, or consequences of cause and effect, in the world. (source: Wikipedia)

I can’t wait to play with that one! The day has just been like bada bing bada boom! In the flow, baby!

You may be wondering, but what about that house you were going to manifest? Trust me, this is all laying the foundations of what is to come. I’m a research girl, once I have my synthesis of theory down, I’ll get to some focused manifesting, but right now, I’m just loving what the flow brings.

The couple of days I spent at the beach, I was completely content in relishing the ocean, the feeling of swimming, appreciating the simple things, my happy dog, the sand, and the sunset that made everything pink-hued.

Awash with thankful awareness of simple pleasures, I experienced such joy and rejuvenation, reading, contemplating, enjoying nature, and taking photos. Connecting with the things I love in this process. It felt wonderful.

For now, it feels like the end-goals matter less than aligning with my higher self. Being myself. Loving being myself. Aligned with the nature of my being: Joy. Peace. Love. Childlike wonderment. Present moment awareness. Connectedness.

I am blissfully playing with creativity. (How’s that for an ‘I am’ statement?)

A quote from Henry David Thoreau to finish with: “If one advances confidently in the direction of his dreams, and endeavours to live the life which he has imagined, he will meet with success unexpected in common hours.”

Bless!

Leave a Reply

