Imagine a love-driven world

Image

On the drive to work this morning my mind started firing questions at me: why is manifesting and intentionality important? Is there more to it than just creating the perfect partner, house and career? Is there a higher purpose?

I believe there is. I’m heading out on a tangent here, but stay with me.

I don’t know about you, but certain stories in the media haunt me, they sit at the edge of my mind and niggle like a quiet but persistent knocking.

Many years ago a teenage boy was abducted and killed while waiting for a bus to go to the local shopping centre to buy Christmas presents. The bus he was supposed to catch had broken down a few kilometres before his stop, and was behind schedule. When a replacement bus eventually arrived, the boy hailed the bus, but it carried on without stopping, due to its delay and the fact that his stop was only an unofficial request stop. The driver of the bus radioed the depot for another bus to go and pick up the waiting boy. When the second bus came a couple of minutes later, the boy was gone.

I am cautious writing about this. It’s just that this story has haunted me for years. It’s like a puzzle I’ve been wanting to solve. Cruelty and harm just doesn’t fit with my ideals for humanity. The man who took the boy was evil, I don’t understand that kind of evil, I don’t have it in me. I think most people can imagine committing violence in extreme circumstances like self-defence, or defence of another, or in the heat of anger, but even then would never actually harm another person intentionally.

The bus driver, however, was operating within the domain of sane human choice and decision making that I can identify with. He made the decision probably based on all kind of rationale due to the bus running behind schedule and the fact that this stop was only an unofficial request stop. There’s probably a bus driving procedure that told him to do exactly what he did. How many decisions do we all make based on fear of being late, of not following rules and procedures, of living out of fear and not love-based decisions?

That’s why it haunts me. Not only as a mother who can’t imagine the pain of this horrible and random act towards a beloved child. But as a human being who makes choices based on fear, and not love, all the time. I imagine how awful it would be for one of those choices to have such terrible consequences.

Don’t get me wrong here, I’m not blaming, I’m just pondering the factors that often dominate our choices in the world. As a person who when running late, will just tip the needle on the speedometer a little over, will run the amber light, will overtake a slow vehicle, will toot and yell at erratic drivers.

How do I know that the stream of red lights aren’t preventing me from being in the wrong place at the wrong time – just like the people who were late for work at the twin towers on September 11, 2001, those mornings filled with unexpected delays can be a godsend.

How do I know the erratic driver in front of me hasn’t just received a call from a hospital emergency room? Or from a child they thought was getting a lift home with someone else but who’s standing alone and vulnerable at a sports oval in the near dark?

Have you ever seen someone and wondered if they need help but have been embarrassed to ask, or too busy to stop?

That’s what makes life so tricky, we don’t know so much.

So what’s my point? I guess the curiosity of what would happen if the majority of people, the majority of time, could make decisions out of love, to slow down, to stop and maybe ask that person who doesn’t look okay if they need help, to say blow the timetable, the procedures, this decision feels wrong and ask ourselves what would love do right now?

I know it’s a tall order. I don’t think I could do it all the time, but what if I could do it more than I do now? What if the 7.046 billion people on this planet did this even once a day, or once a week, imagine those 7 billion extra acts of loving kindness and what they could do?

No, living in the flow of love is not about manifesting the Ferrari, the penthouse and the perfect man, it’s about being able to make love-driven choices.

Imagine a love-driven world. Just stop for a moment and visualise that that would look like.

The Dalai Lama famously said “If every 8 year old in the world is taught to meditate on compassion for one hour a day, we will eliminate violence from the world within one generation.” Why? Because meditation makes us mindful, aware, conscious, and as a result, compassionate. Anecdotal evidence shows crime statistics are lowered in communities where significant numbers of people meditate.

Simon Baron-Cohen describes evil as a deficiency of empathy. Considering an estimated 96% of human beings have functional empathy, evil makes up such a small percentage of our world, but does such great damage. Why? Because the other 96% of us often aren’t using our empathy, our compassion, our love, to make choices.

And choices have real effects in world.

Intention is not magical thinking. It is thoughtful, mindful clarity of action. It effects change in our lives, the world we live in, and the consciousness of humanity.

Let’s finish with an affirmation I love by Louise Hay which to me sums up the power of love to erase all fear, violence, and negativity.

“Love relaxes and releases all unlike itself.”

Bless.

Title image:

http://dreamdharma.files.wordpress.com/2013/03/hands-love-peace-peace-and-love-sweden.jpg

Leave a Reply

